Connecting campuses to promote excellence in math and science
See current events & news

2013 Janet Anderson Award

Deadline April 19, 2013

We are now accepting applications for the 2013 Janet Anderson Lecture Award. We encourage nominations for faculty members of any rank who have vigorous research programs involving undergraduates, who are exceptional mentors for undergraduate research students, who are engaged and skilled teachers, or who create interdisciplinary research opportunities for undergraduate students.

This award was established in 2008 to honor the memory of Janet Andersen, a beloved faculty member at Hope College and Director of the Midstates Consortium for five years before her life ended in a tragic automobile accident in 2005. We remember Janet's dedication and commitment to her work with students and faculty in her teaching, research and service to the Consortium by choosing one or two faculty members from the Consortium member institutions each year for this award. The winner(s) present the Janet Andersen Lecture at one or both of the fall Undergraduate Research Symposia on a topic of his or her expertise. The award recipient(s) will also receive a $300 honorarium.

Faculty, students, staff, and administrators at Consortium member institutions are invited to nominate faculty members of any rank for this award. Please send a letter of nomination with relevant details about the nominee, along with the nominee's current CV to Midstates Consortium Director Brandy Russell via e-mail. (