Connecting campuses to promote excellence in math and science
Beloit College - Carthage College - Colorado College - Grinnell College - Gustavus Adolphus College - Hope College - Knox College - Lawrence University - Macalester College - St Olaf College - University of Chicago - Washington University in St Louis
See current events & news

2021 Janet Andersen Lecture Award recipients

Dr. Gerald Griffin

Interim Provost

Professor of Biology and Psychology

Hope College, Holland Michigan


It is clear from his nomination letter that Dr. Griffin is a master teacher.  His use of an interdisciplinary approach in particular is in the spirit of Janet Andersen.  As the writers of the letter put it “Dr. Griffin has used creative approaches to cross-train students for types of thinking and writing that are hallmarks of an excellent liberal arts education, addressing neuroscience in relation to ethics, law, and art.” The results of this approach have been exercises like business plans that connect neuroscience to the needs of the community and the “Jazz Session of the Brain” as a way of teaching about brain neural paths.  Dr. Griffin also has an impressive record as a research mentor as indicated by the fact that he has mentored over forty-five undergraduate research students in the last decade and published papers with twelve of them.  His record of service to the college community is also exemplary especially in his role of Interim Provost in the year of COVID 19.